I was lucky enough to be asked by Apple to locate a training centre at the school I work in, and set up training events for local schools and the community. As part of this Apple launched these Kent RTCs at the Turner centre in Margate, where one of the RTCs will be based. They invited a guest speaker to the event, Marco Torres, from America, and he gave a very good talk. While listening to the talk I was impressed with his style of teaching and how he got challenging students to engage with learning. I also thought how I woulld like to do the same, but things such as National Challenge and league tables stiffle this kind of creativity. If only we could set students the task of getting signed by a record company! I truely believe this would be much more beneficial for students, but how would it contribute to NC and 5a-c? And here is where the issues lay.

